Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 50 total)
  • Is it silly to be thinking about getting a mortgage right now?
  • one_happy_hippy
    Free Member

Im seriously considering getting a mortgage. Im currently renting and for the size of mortgage I could get I'd actually be paying less than my current rent.

In order to get a mortgage for the amount of deposit I have (sq root of **** all in modern terms) my parents were very kindly suggesting they would help via a Lloyds 'Lend a Hand' Mortgage scheme. Not ideal in terms of me having to have financial help but better than them just giving a wedge of cash towards a deposit.

I work in the geotechnical industry and as a result of the recession etc we were on 4 day weeks for 3months last year however at the moment we are plodding along steadily not busy busy but not twiddling our thumbs.

My position in the company, albeit fairly far down the food chain, is pretty secure if there were redundancies (mutterings on side from boss), and on mentioning I was thinking about a mortgage and the direction the industry was going etc, his advice was 'If I was you I'd do it'. He's pretty savvy, a sound guy and unlikely to lie to me or just fob me off.

Im single, nigh on 29. With a Excellent Credit rating (god knows how) one <£1500 loan outstanding on car until next april ish.

Is this the time to be looking, should I start paying for me to own a house rather than struggling on paying someone else's mortgage for them.

If I do – I wont be much better off (few quid a month) and besides maintaining the place I shouldn't be any worse off.

MSP

Personally I think that the UK housing market is still way overpriced, and is being artificialy supported by government policy, I believe that it will crash sooner or later, but then again it may not.