Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 65 total)
  • Is it me or are disc braked road bikes a pain in the arse?
  • flange
    Free Member

I’ve been commuting on the bike for about 18 months now, varying between fixed track bike, carbon road bike and disc braked gravel bike. More specifically brakes have varied between one front caliper and legs (track), disc brakes (gravel) and standard calipers (road bike). For the past 1800 miles I’ve used the Grade with TRP Hy/Rd brakes which need constant fettling to stop them running and keeping them working. One of my other bikes has Shimano RS685 which needs similar levels of maintenance to keep them running sweet and stop them rubbing.

I’m also have to change pads every 700 to 1k miles (tried Shimano’s own, Superstar) which seems like an awful lot – I don’t think I’ve ever changed the caliper pads on the road bike or the track bike. Last night was the final straw – after riding home feeling like the bike was ‘dragging’ (normally me and my knackered legs) I got back to the car to find the rear wheel would barely turn in the frame – pads rubbing again despite being fine in the morning.

I’ve got to the point where I’m just going to sack the Grade off and buy a fixed with mudguards – I’m sick of the constant maintenance required to keep a disc’d bike running.

Just me (and my mechanic’ing skills) or have others found this as well?

cloudnine
    Free Member

Why are the pads rubbing?
    Bent discs? Sticky pistons?

flange
    Free Member

Nope – it’s not a wonky disc type rubbing, its a brake binding on type rubbing. They’ve always done it – a week of riding, maybe two and then I have to adjust to stop them rubbing again. That’s about 300 miles of riding so not a huge amount.

fanatic278
    Free Member