Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Intensive driving courses – how much time?
  • Retrodirect
    Free Member

I’m looking at intensive driving courses, they seem to suggest that people should be booking up to 40 hours of lessons?

This seems a bit excessive to me or am I just being tight. I mean, how hard can it be?

simmy
    Free Member

DVSA average for a learner from complete beginner to test standard is about 44 hours.

Have you any driving experience ?

Retrodirect
    Free Member

Driven a large unloaded diesel transit around the work carpark on the clutch. but no, not really.

simmy
    Free Member

So no road experience.

The intensive courses are just that – intensive and not for everyone. If you have a bad lesson having normal weekly lessons, you can start afresh the week after whereas on an intensive you can’t get away 😉

To me, 40 hours is about right. You wouldn’t start a new job with no training Monday morning and expect to be left totally alone Friday 5pm. That’s what you do with driving.

Make sure that if you pay for 40 hours, you get 40 hours and are not doubled up with another student. Also bear in mind that out of those 40 hours, at least 2 hours will be alloted to test.

If there are terms and conditions, read them carefully. On some, if the instructor feels you are not ready for test you will lose the £62 fee.

Have you done your theory yet ?

nickdavies

Why not book an hour or 2 as a starter lesson with an instructor and see what they think? Everyone’s going to be different.. I booked 10 hours which was 8 hours learning and 2 for test and passed with a couple of minors. I put that down to having a motorbike first though. I reckon the road experience is way more important than the actual learning how to make a car go in a straight line.

BeardedDave
    Free Member