Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • I'm curious about softshells… is there a lightweight, breathable, robust one?
  • poppa
    Free Member

(If you can’t be bothered to read my essay below feel free to reply to just the title…)

I have never used a softshell before, but I am thnking of giving one a go. My clothing strategy is usually to use the lightest weight outer layer possible, and to layer up inside depending on temperature. So in spring/autumn I have a single short-sleeve layer under the hardshell, and in winter I might add an extra layer or arm warmers.

So far I have always used a ‘shower proof’ single layer hard shell (e.g. pertex), but I am getting fed up with these because they don’t keep me that dry in the wet, need constant waterproofing and, crucially, tend to be flimsy and break.

Therefore I am thinking of going for a softshell outer, with an ‘occasional use’ shower cape stuffed in the bag. To suit my needs I would want one that is highly breathable, very windproof and, although it doesn’t need to be waterproof, it wouldn’t hurt to have some water resistance. The other important requirement is a bit of robustness. I find that the single layer hardshells tend to split/tear at the seams with repeated putting on/taking off.

Does such a thing exist? This being the first time I have looked at softshells, I don’t know what the key brands are. I see Gore have a lighweight ‘active shell’, but it looks like this might be similar to my old single layer hardshells.

Price wise, I would probably go to £100ish if I know it’s going to last a few years.

All advice gratefully receieved…

EDIT: Will also be used for commuting wearing work clothes, hence breathability requirement

scotroutes

You’ve correctly identified the major problem with Soft Shells – nobody really knows wtf they are.