Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Ibis Mojo HD vs Turner DW 5-Spot Thoughts
  • heihei

Firstly bit of background…..I’m a big Turner fan ever since getting a Horst-Link 5-Spot 6 years ago, so much so that my son’s middle name is Turner! I’m also a big fan of the DW Link, having bought an early Ibis Mojo, and I agree with the hype that it is the “best” suspension design out there for all the reasons that have been discussed at length on various forums. I sold the Mojo after about a year as the medium frame was a bit too small for me, and I’d already cracked 2 rear triangles, so when Turner adopted the DW Link I was first in the queue for a 5-Spot, which I’ve been running for over 18 months. However, when Ibis announced the HD, I was very keen to try it, to see if it offered the best of both. I therefore got my local Ibis dealer (Head for the Hills in Dorking) to get 2-Pure’s demo in ASAP!

Now to the comparison of the 5-Spot vs Mojo HD, and some observations vs a standard Mojo.
    I chose an area of the Surrey Hills I knew well, and that contained a decent mix of trails, from twisty singletrack, steep stuff, and a short section of rocky downhill, as well as plenty of climbing. For those that know the area, I rode around the Judge’s Seat area for much of the test.
    I started off on the 5-Spot (a large), which is set up with Float 36, a CCDB shock, Mavic SX wheels, and Rubber Queen 2.2” tyres, which weighs in at 30lbs. I rode for an hour to get the feel of the bike again, as I’ve recently been riding my hardtail rather than full suss.