Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • http://www.safe-t-seat.co.uk/
  • neilforrow

anyone used one of these…??…

http://www.safe-t-seat.co.uk/

mintimperial

Yes, I bought one last week. Used it once for about an hour so far, so can only really offer first impressions.

Pros: Son (2) is quite happy and comfortable it it, and he's a picky little B and will let us know if the slightest detail is not up to scratch. The bike is reasonably easy to control with it attached (although I have no experience of other types of seats so take that as you will). Very good for enabling on-bike child/parent chatting, which is why I went for it in the first place. Very easy to get on and off the bike, five minutes with an allen key, tops.

Cons: it's big, this can make getting on the bike a bit difficult because the space between saddle and seat is a bit restricted; I'm 5'10", if you're much under that you may find it a problem. It appears to have interfered with the headset, which required tightening up on a normal ride after I'd taken it off – not a big deal but definitely something to keep an eye on.

Overall I'm pleased with it: it's not perfect, but it does the job well enough and allows me to chat to my boy whilst we're riding along without taking my eyes off the trail.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Try mumsnet 😛

Doh1Nut

Have not used that one as was not sure about extra weight on handlebars.
    I use a
    We ride
    which is good but really does cut down the area in front of the saddle so I struggle to drop down off the front of the saddle when stopping. I think I will add another adjustment hole to allow the seat to be moved a couple of inches further forward.
    If you have a low saddle then it is not an issue

N

convert