Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • How much would a holiday to Whistler set me back?
  • devon_roadie
    Free Member

Seriously considering a bike holiday, something I’ve never done outside of the UK before.

How much should I generally expect to pay for a biking holiday to Whistler and surrounding area? I’m guessing most people go for more than 7 days?

Do you take your own bike or is it cheaper/easier to hire?

Thanks!

backhander
    Free Member

£lots!
    Cheaper to take your own bike definately.
    You could do it cheaper, there is a campsite in whistler in easy reach of the town. Expect accomodation and eating out to be pricey but there is a rather nice supermarket called nestars opposite the campsite which sells very high quality food. You won’t need a car. Look at bearback biking they get good reviews but the canadians recommend bushpilot biking (bit of a legend apparently) http://bushpilotbiking.com/

mc
    Free Member

Own bike is usually cheaper, but depending on what it is, and the type of riding you’re wanting to do when on holiday, hiring may be better.
    Hiring is obviously easier, as it means you don’t have the faff of packing/unpacking twice, and hauling it through the airports. I always take my own bike, as it’s what I’m used to, and it’s sufficiently beaten up for me not to worry too much about airport staff abusing it.

For flights, check out Canadian Affair, as they’re normally the cheapest, but BA is often not much dearer, and may be the better option depending on airports.

I think I paid about £470 for return flights last year, plus lots for the T2R bike park tour, but you should get basic accomodation for about £250/week. I normally take the equivalent of £500 cash for two weeks, and use the credit card for lift passes/bike repairs.