Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • How much chainring to chainstay clearance do I need?
  • JoeG
    Free Member

My On-One Fatty was delivered today! 😀

It comes with a single ring crank, and I’m pretty certain that I need a double. So I ordered a Race Face Evolve 24-36-Bash and put it on. It fits. 🙂 But there is only about 1 mm (the thickness of a zip tie) of clearance between the chainring and chainstay. 😯

Would anyone be comfortable with so little clearance on their bike?

I’m leaning toward getting a 34 tooth ring instead…

ska-49
    Free Member

My yelli screamy with a 34t has the same clearance. I’ve been running it like this for a few months. Not had any issues (touch wood).

druidh
    Free Member

Have you moved all the axle spacers to the drive side?

wwaswas

Any chainsuck will kil the stay 🙁

richpips
    Free Member

You could always mod a bit more clearance.

mtbfix

I ran a ring with about 3mm gap on an Inbred and the ring rubbed when out of the saddle. I guess I’d be looking for 5mm to mitigate against any issues.

JoeG
    Free Member

Thanks, all.

ska49 – good to hear that.

Druidh – I installed it stock per this. I could move spacers, but then the crank arms would be offset from the frame centerline. While I appreciate that this won’t be noticeable when riding, it would drive me crazy knowing that the cranks aren’t centered. So if someone else had built the bike and not told me, it would be fine. Since I know, no. Good idea, though.

wwaswas – I’m switching the bike to a Simano Shadow+ rear der. That should make chain suck a lot less likely. And the chainstays are effin’ huge square things! I can’t remember the last time I had chain suck on my regular bike, but its 8 speed.

rich – yes it would have to be a biiiig BFH. As above, the stays are huge.

mtbfix – I’d guess that the Fatty stays are a lot bigger than the Inbred, so less likely to flex IMO. We’ll see when I ride.

richpips
    Free Member