Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • How fit do you need to be to do your job? Actually fitness tested!
  • biglee1

At work theres been a bit of a crackdown by the hse for fitness to pass our yearly medicals. I found out that I’ve got to be a higher fitness level than a fireman! I’m not a fireman 😯

Bregante

I’m a cop and have to do a yearly fitness test aimed at all operational staff, followed later in the year by an enhanced test for my particular role. In all honesty the basic test which consists of a bleep test is too easy and I can see it being tightened up in the coming years. The enhanced test is part of a two day course that I have to re-classify in every year and is only knackering because of the kit worn whilst doing it.

Northwind

You’ve got to be reasonably fit to do mine. Not athletic or anything, just decent stamina and a bit of manual handling getting in and out of venues and that. Not a lot of older folks doing it (my boss is in his 60s but he’s fitter than me, he’s a full on gym psycho).

But there’s no fitness test or owt, you’d just soon discover you can’t actually do the job.

ade9933
    Free Member

We have 15 minute stand-ups most days. Sometimes you have to stand-up for the whole entire thing #yesreally!

The coffee machine is also nearly 20 paces from some desks.

Duffer
    Free Member

9.10 on the bleep test will buy you 6 months currency in our place. The higher you go, the less frequently you’ll be required to run the test.

Trekster

Had one of our apprentices from another plant working with me a couple weeks ago. He is a pretty fit young rower/sculler. “My” plant has a lot of stairways, his is on the flat. We use lots of biggish spanners, mostly 22mm, 27mm and 32mm. We do a fair amount of vertical ladder climbing and heavier lifting than he is used to. By the end of the first week he admitted to being knackered and amazed at my fitness being 61!!!!! 😆