Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • How do I know if I need MTB coaching?
  • tacopowell
    Free Member

In the grand scheme of things I’m fairly new to mountain biking,
    3 years really, spending the first 2 years 6mths in mid Wales, been spoilt for trail choice and riding almost everyday, more often than not solo, luckily I did have enough guidance from fairly expirenced riders but its only in the past 6 months since moving to Nottingham where my riding has been reduced to almost nothing that I’ve considered coaching,

I’m just not sure how bad/good I am, I figure there’s no harm in having coaching but with who and at what level?!

killwillforchips
    Free Member

Everyone needs training. Even full time Olympic athletes have coaches.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Well the Pro’s have coaches, so that tells you something.

WorldClassAccident
    Free Member

I went to see Jedi about something unrelated to training. While I was there he adjusted my brake lever position and explained why and got me improving my cornering and ability to leave the ground.

That was about 10 minutes on the bike and not formal training. The cornering and brake lever bit I still use when riding.

I would recommend the occasional training/coaching session. After all, it doesn’t seem to harm the pro riders

tacopowell
    Free Member

Sound points, I’ll get on it.

swingbing
    Free Member

Find a group ride somewhere local and see how you compare with others?

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

Depends, Good training will improve your riding but I’d ask yourself why do you want to improve, are you not happy with some aspect of your riding? Any type of training will be of most benefit if its well targeted.