Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Home made bash :) (pics)
  • R.lepecha

I decided to make a bash ring out of an old truitiv chainring.

Nearly all teeth removed

primed, ready to be painted

painted silver, couldn't be arsed going to buy some orange paint to follow the colour scheme, but the silver go's with the derailleurs and pedals 🙂 its got a few coats of lacquer on it too

I like it 🙂

stevieeeh
    Free Member

Good work.

Me likes a lot.

crocodilian
    Free Member

Yeah, nice job! Saved yourself £30 or more probably.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    yesiamtom
    Free Member

Thats very nice indeed, has sent some cogs whirring in my own head i must admit!

DT78
    Free Member

What did you use to remove the teeth / grind it down? (power tool novice here)

Phatman
    Free Member

Let us know what happens when you actually bash it off something…

psychle
    Free Member

yep, that's not really a 'bashguard' is it? More a cosmetic addition to your bike (a nice one I agree, but cosmetic nonetheless 😉 ) Hope you took care of any sharp edges on there… could be lethal that! 😯

brant
    Free Member

Here are some more things you might like:-

http://heroofswitzerland.blogspot.com/search/label/Top%20Tips

F-StopJunkie
    Free Member

That will protect your trousers, but it's no bash ring. Whack it into a log or rock and it'll bend. If you're lucky it'll bend outwards and just be a pain in the bum. If it bends inwards and obstructs the chain, you'll be cursing.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

Well I like it anyway. Looks good.

snowslave

It seems an awful lot of trouble to make something that looks like a bash ring!

tinribz
    Free Member

Did something similier on a deore outer ring, the teeth are like butter when you put a file one them. Was more to keep daughters trowsers clean than a bash guard. Works a treat.

R.lepecha