Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Help – will these 2nd hand XT cranks work
  • oldgwegg
    Free Member

I’ve found an XT crankset for sale with the 3 chain rings unused and the crank arms and BB in good condition. I only need the crank arms for now but figured I’d buy the lot and keep the rings and BB for spares.

However, the guy has said that he has filed down the part where the inner ring fixes on to so he could use an anti-derailleur (I think he means a tensioner) BUT that if I place a spacer I can use it as normal i.e. with all 3 chain rings.

Considering that I’m a novice when it comes to bike bits and the seller is talking to me in French I thought I’d seek some advice here about whether what he is suggesting is possible/easy to do. What do I do with a spacer ? PS – in case you’re wondering, my French isn’t that bad but I’m a bit my vocabulary is a bit limited with technical terms like “spacer” and “filed down” 🙁

Singlespeed_Shep
    Free Member

Raceface cranks came with spacers that fitted to each of the bolt holes the inner ring. This was to move it away from the cranks, Which is what I think he means.

If you want to use an inner ring and are a novice i’d walk away as you may end up with a wonly inner ring,

NorthCountryBoy
    Free Member

get a pic up

Singlespeed_Shep
    Free Member

bit like this:

Linky link

oldgwegg
    Free Member

Good idea – I’ll ask for a close-up pic as I’ve only got a pic of the whole crankset.

oldgwegg
    Free Member

Singlespeed Shep – thanks for the link, I didn’t see that post when I posted last night. Maybe thats it – I was just thinking of a couple of washers when he said “spacer” !

glasgowdan
    Free Member

There must be loads of used cranks for sale on this forum – just get some that haven’t been filed!

MrGFisher
    Free Member