Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Help me find this frame.
  • iridebikes
    Free Member

So, I’m new to the world of 29 inch wheels, and I’m looking for a frame. I was looking at the parkwood but now I’ve realised it’s not long enough on the top tube.

I’ve thought up some ideas of the frame id like which are below. Am I being too optimistic though with finding all these things in a frame? The closest I’ve found is an orange clockwork.

I want the frame to be light, preferably less than 4 pounds.

I want a maximum seat tube of 20 inches.

I want a reach of a minimum of 435, preferably 10mm longer.

And a relatively slack head angle, which can run 100/120mm forks.

Has anyone got any suggestions?

z1ppy

Whyte 5/6/729 series? Not available frame only new but occasionally come up on ebay (F/O)
    I’m looking at to the Nukeproof Scout 29er but that may need a longer fork than your talking about, the ‘old’ Kona Taro maybe closer to your requirements (or new Honza but the ali version is hard to get F/O in UK)

recent thread (though some ppl’s take on slacker geo is very steep IMO!)

garlic
    Free Member

Large Cotic Solaris ticks all of those boxes geometry wise- their bikes tend to be long and low. It’s nearly 1lbs heavier though.

cows_in_cars
    Free Member

I am also looking for almost exactly the same frame as you. I have a clockwork 29er but not really slack enough IMO, really nice frame have considered a slack set on it.

I think the whyte bikes are a good suggestion, 2016 large is much better sized than the 2015. New Kona’s sizing is a bit off I feel, long gone are the days of kona offering loads of sizes, I, and I suspect you by the sounds of it, sit between the 18.5″ and the 20.9″ sizes.

being very fussy I wish whyte would do the x29 as frame only, 120mm and in better colours but that’s super fussy.

Other than that I can’t find anything really that fits the bill.

Rorschach
    Free Member