Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Help! How to fix a sticky hope freewheel…
  • ddmonkey

Right I'm rubbish at this kind of thing, I've noticed that when I back pedal my cranks that the cassette on my rear wheel sticks and the chain goes slack… I'm thinking some kind of basic maintenance that I never bother doing is required and its probably pretty simple. Can anyone help?

The hub / hubs are hope bulb and xc.

Thanks! Sorry if this has been done a million times before…

uplink
    Free Member

Don't back pedal?

TBH if you're crap at DIY a Hope rear hub probably isn't the best place to start

EDIT: just to clarify – the hubs are quite simple really but can often require quite a lot of brute force & hammers to service

ddmonkey

Yeah I don't when riding, I'm just worried that I'm forgoing a bit of maintenance that I might be able to do myself if I knew what it was. I'm not a mechanical numpty, just don't have the knowledge here.

ddmonkey

Ah brute for and hammers! A recipe for disater with me… Exactly how much brute force is too much? Oh that much…

bikewhisperer
    Free Member

It's easiest if you remove the cassette.
    Pill the drive side end cap off the axle and you should by gentle wriggling be able to remove the freehub body. Once it's moved by about 5mm locate the 3 pawls and cover them with 3 fingers. Pull it the rest of the way off, holding the pawls down. there's a spacer behind the freehub. remove that as well (and remember to put it back when you re-assemble!)
    Clean everything with a cloth and some gt85 or disc cleaner. Don't blast the bearings with this! Check the pawls still have a good edge and aren't broken or cracked.
    Light grease like finish line on everything. Too heavier a grease and the pawls will stick down It's a bit of a fiddle getting the pawl springs and pawls back in place. a dab of grease behind helps.
    Re-assemble in reverse order.
    Ride.
    Easy!

uplink
    Free Member
    ddmonkey

Ace thanks uplink.