Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Heating oil – normal or premium?
  • andyl
    Free Member

Just about to order 1000L of heating oil to top up for winter. Never had oil heating before and wondering if is worth the £20 for premium over regular or will we struggle to see much/any benefit? We have a new WB combi.

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

Regular burning oil, aka standard burning oil, aka kerosene etc I don’t think any domestic heating boilers run on PBO (or certainly anybody bothering with it as an alt) and would probably warn against experimenting with it (could be akin to putting diesel in a petrol car). Some domestic boilers run on Gas Oil tho, so you need to be sure which it runs on…most run on kerosene/RBO/SBO

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

I’ve just quickly looked into it and it appears you can do it, but in the years I worked as a rep for BFL (now CPL petroleum) I don’t recall any large sales of PBO for domestic use, it wasn’t an option we offered at the time, seems an unnecessary luxury to me.

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

Are you sure the dif is only £20 per 1000L? there used to be a much bigger price gap, maybe that’s why they are offering it as a lower emissions alternative these days.

andyl
    Free Member

yup, 58.67PPL v 60.80PPL inc. vat

Either should be fine, just one is touted as being ‘better’.

Hoping to get away with 1 tank a year as it’s only going to be used for heating (2 bed fully double glazed bungalow) and hot water (but not shower) but we shall see!

stu170
    Free Member

I think you will just about get 1k litres to last year if you dont have the heating on sky high.

househusband

Would a domestic boiler have to have some kind of ‘smart’ burner/injection system to adjust accordingly – or is the premium stuff just cleaner/greener..?

tonto
    Free Member

It makes the radiators come alive 🙂

(someone had to say it)

househusband

😆

northernmatt