Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Have I snapped my handbrake?
  • jambourgie
    Free Member

Just got in the van, and as I was about to pull away I put my foot down and nothing happened. Then a loud bang and off we go. Sounded/felt like I’d gone over something so I got out to check: All clear.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t have the handbrake on, I mean, I’ve never done that before, but I can’t think what else it could be? I’m on level ground so can’t test properly for functionality, although it does click as normal and I can’t push it (small van)

Any ideas? It doesn’t get used very often if that helps, last time it was used was 8 days ago.

wwaswas

the pads had corroded onto the disks, you’ve freed them up now 🙂

My Morris Minor used to leave 60ft long skids on one side as one of the drums always stuck after the handbrake had been on for a while.

jambourgie
    Free Member

Ahh, phew. So ‘normal’ then? Ie, nothing to worry about? It’s a 2004 Suzuki Carry.

Cheers

wwaswas

probably drums at the back so even more likely that the shoes had stuck to the drum.

As long as it all works ok now you should be fine.

jambourgie
    Free Member

Great, thanks 🙂

Did make the wee student girl jump that was walking past 😈

stumpy01

wwaswas – Member
    the pads had corroded onto the disks, you’ve freed them up now

Yeah, this. Mine does it if I wash the car and then don’t drive it for a few days.

easygirl

I would check the drums , could be seized part on the assembly, if it is sticking, could ruin your pads, drums

TuckerUK
    Free Member

Shoes sticking to drums, fairly common.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Took my test on a motorbike that had a sticking rear drum brake (had a slack chain as well for added effect). Schools response was ‘they all do that, just give it more gas/clutch’. Like flip do they, it was barely rideable!

B.A.Nana
    Free Member