Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 62 total)
  • Growing Chillis – Advive needed ….
  • letmetalktomark

I have the following seedlings planted.

The mixture is Jalapeno & Habanero.

At what point do I take them out of the tray?

When I do take them out do I plant them into much bigger pots?

All help/advice as usual much appreciated 8)

coffeeking
    Free Member

From personal experience I’d plant them in a pot now and keep them in direct sun/warmth. May or may not be right, but it worked for me.

mrlard
    Free Member

just take them out stick them into a bigger pot i tend to go for approx 10inch diameter per plant let them grow to about a foot tall then I snap the top off it seems to make the bush out more.

I would just like to say i am no pro thats just what i found works

just make sure you water and feed them on a regular basis. I found cold nights tend to muck things up so tend to keep then indoors for most of there life until the flower then chuck them outside and let the bees do what they do, that or tap each flower to help pollinate (sp)

Oggles
    Free Member

As coffeeking, I’ve had them potted at about that stage in the past. It worked for me too.

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

Definitely take them out now and into some good potting on compost. Keep them in a warm and sunny spot (but not too much direct light).

When were they planted? They look a little small for May so you will need to feed well and kept in plenty of light to encourage growth and flowering.

Don’t forget you will need to ensure they are pollinated so on nice wind-free days get them outside for the bugs to do their stuff. Or get ticking with a small artist brush.

I didn’t manage to plant any this year (first time in several years) mainly due to last year’s crop being useless so I got disheartened.

EDIT – Mrlard covered most of what I said too 🙂

dave_rudabar
    Free Member