Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Gravel/road crossover Qs
  • JonEdwards
    Free Member

The missus is contemplating chopping in her “proper” roadbike (Van Nic Euros) for something more relaxed, with discs and proper guards that can deal with some offroad and light touring/bikepacky stuff. The plan would be to have 2 sets of wheels – normal road, and a set of gravel knobblies (possibly 650+). She’s already entered the Dirty Reiver, so that’s the kind of riding we’re talking about.

Couple of questions.

What are people doing for mudguards on gravel bikes? An all weather roadbike ain’t an all weather roadbike unless its got proper guards on, but I don’t want to have to take the guards off every time she wants to change wheels.

What’s the current view on road plus? Seems to make plenty of sense to me for the gravelly stuff, but I’ve very little actual knowledge.

Thanks!

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Dunno about 650b but I’ve just bought a CAADX, planning to use big slicks (Schwalbe CX Comp or Sammy Slick) with M:part primoplastic guards in winter and something like WTB Nano’s without guards in the summer.

That leaves a bit of a gap for winter-of road, but TBH taking the guards on and off would be enough of a faff to put me off doing that without tyre/wheel changes.

I can see the appeal of 650b for longer distance off-road stuff though, but then you’d want ‘mtb’ style guards that don’t clog with mud.

whitestone
    Free Member

I think you’d have to check the details of each frame for mudguards/clearance – most seem to quote clearance without guards. I think I’ve got these on my CdF

Road plus – looks a good idea as you get the extra volume meaning more cushioning. I don’t know anyone who has actually used it though. Until recently it’s been quite hard to get hold of either rims or tyres and there’s still not a lot of choice – WTB and an Alpkit offering are all that spring to mind.

smokey_jo

My Holdsworth Stelvio is currently wearing these