Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • GPS advice needed.
  • deluded
    Free Member

It’s my intention to do some off road trail exploring this year (Beacons, Peaks etc and a Scotland trip is being planned) and with that aim in mind I’m going to purchase a GPS. I’ve never used one before and I find the different models and formats a little bewildering.

The emphasis of the GPS must be firmly on navigation with detailed topographical information and a decent sized screen. I’m not hugely interested in performance data. I like gadgets that are intuitive, functional without too much faffage or an overwhelming list of features or connectivity options – just simple upload/download to a Mac.

What GPS would you advise is best?

Cheers.

geoffj

It’s hard to beat the Garmin range. Something like an etrex 20 or 30 would do the job.
    Open street map data is now a decent alternative to os map data too – downloadable in the right formats from sites like talky toaster.

A Garmin edge 810 or 1000 would also work, but the screen is smaller and so not as good for navigation IMHO

maximusmountain
    Free Member

Get an etrex, I manage to navigate a CX bike over 95 miles of the moors with a 30. The only thing they aren’t that good at is being run over by range rovers, they tend not to like this and it should be avoided.

Also the bike mounts are sh*t, like really sh*t and I have seen on the bear bones of someone modifying it with inner tube to make the attachment tighter. I have also seen people tying it to their bars with a lanyard for when it does vibrate free from its mount.

5thElefant
    Free Member

I have an etrex20, but… they have a tiny screen, aren’t intuitive and very faffy.

A mobile phone with Memory Map on it would meet your stated requirements better, but you’d be better off with the garmin.

richardthird

Buttons = Etrex. Touchscreen = Dakota 20. Both use AAs. I’ve the latter it’s ace and the £2 bike mounts of fleabay are great too.