Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Good hardtails £1000-£1200
  • hagster
    Free Member

I’m looking for a bit of advice. I’m new to mountain biking and looking to spend around £1200 on a hardtail. There’s so much information on the web and whenever you go into a bike shop they just gear their sales pitch to their own stock.

Any ideas on a good buy please?

mboy
    Free Member

You probably couldn’t have picked a more hotly contested market! But you’re right, all sorts of blurb from all different makers, and each bike shop will indeed try to sell you their own stock.

One thing I will say though, just cos it’s right for a magazine, or a certain tester, doesn’t necessarily make it right for you. But… Certainly well worth trying out though I’m sure.

For £1200, the Genesis Core 50 won the “What Mountain Bike of the year” award. I have a Genesis Altitude (same geometry, but steel rather than alloy frame) and I really like it a lot. Of course though, there are many other manufacturers out there…

Personally, I’d get and try a few out. Decide what’s important to you. You may decide you want a lightweight XC bike, with short travel suspension forks and a lightweight build. Or you may decide you want to go the other way, you want something beefy with 140mm (possibly more!) travel forks, and a build that’s going to last if you throw it off stuff. Or even somewhere in the middle…

As you’re new to the sport, there’ll probably be quite a bit of trial and error involved though, so best to do it BEFORE you commit to buy than after…

Grapefruit
    Free Member

I was in the same boat a year ago. If your into a more trail oriented ride then I’d happily recommend a whyte 901. I’ve been having loads of fun on mine. Also, orange p7 is pretty tasty if you like the steel thing. Heard good things about the genesis core too. It’s a congested section of the market that’s for sure, and everyone has their favourites. Happy hunting!

toys19
    Free Member