Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Glentress blue, Carron Valley…where next?
  • lucasshmucas

I’ve booked a day off work next Friday so that I can go ride my bike somewhere interesting, preferably within 90 minutes travel of Glasgow, and the closer the better.

I’m new to mountain biking and have been to Glentress a couple of times and have stuck to the blue runs with a little bit of red thrown in. I’ve also been to Carron Valley, which was fun but a bit limited.

I’ve been thinking of going back to Glentress to try the red, visiting Comrie Croft, riding up the West Highland Way from Milngavie until I think it’s time to turnaround and head back, or heading south to one of the other 7 stanes. Any suggestions as to where I should go on my day off would be very welcome.

Ta.

stevenmenmuir
    Free Member

The blue at Comrie is great fun but very short, the red will probably be a good bit harder than what you’ve tried before. Maybe try and do a bit more of the red at Glentress?

iainc

^^^ agree, Comrie Red is a dark red !

WHW is a bit boring unless you get a local to show you some nice diversions.

Drumlanrig is a good option, but not if it’s wet as the roots are very slippery !

YoKaiser
    Free Member

Aye I’d say red and blue at glentress. Then think about Comrie. The xc trail at Inners is worth considering too.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Apart from conic hill descent – which will be beyond you at this stage – that ride out from milngavie is a dullfest. Echo the above, do more of GT.

Gary_M
    Free Member

You could get to Dalbeattie 7 stanes in about 1hr 45 minutes or Mabie in around 90 minutes depending on where you are in Glasgow and the time you’re traveling. Glasgow to Moffat is very quick and it’s then a decent road to Dumfries.

On another unrelated point were you riding on the a77 last night Iain?

hainman
    Free Member

If you just take your time on the Red at Glentress you will be fine

BoardinBob