Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • Giant anthem, do it all or do nothing well?
  • tomhughes
    Free Member

A quick question if you guys don’t mind obliging me as I am new to singletrack. I got myself a giant anthem after getting into mountain biking recently. To be honest I have completely fallen in love with this side of cycling. I come from a TT/Triathlon background and had got so wrapped up in power meters and aerodynamics that it was incredibly refereshing to ditch it all and just have fun!
    Me being me I went out and got myself a bike straight away and got good deal on an anthem X3. From my limited MTB experience it seems to ride well and do what I want it to do. But a mate says I would have a bit more fun on something with more travel, say 140mm compared to the anthems 100. He also has the luxury of having a carbon hardtail that he uses for races. As i’d also like to get into a bit of racing I like the idea of the light hardtail.
    I also know my past history with bikes, a first purchase of a standard road bike was quickly followed by the purchase of a super light carbon bike AND a time trial bike. I know I am going to want a bike for racing AND a bike for bashing around the trail centers. Am I just lusting after new kit or am I better off selling the anthem and building up something bouncier and something racier?

mattzzzzzz
    Free Member

Lighten up the Anthem and race that? Yes/no there meant to be a capable beast

joemacca51
    Free Member

To be honest if you are new to MTB The anthem is probably more capable than you are. Money would be better spent on a skills course finding the limits of the bike rather than splashing out on new kit.

bentudder

The Anthem will do everything you’ve described – and do it very well.

At this stage (hell, at any stage) don’t worry about the kit, worry about whether you’re having fun.