Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 56 total)
  • getting used to rd bike braking
  • sefton
    Free Member

I’ve been riding a rd bike for around 3 months. I find it a little unnerving not covering the brakes. (I’m so used to covering the brakes on my mtb).

I find it quite difficult to descend especially around traffic without tensing up & dragging the brakes

anyone else find the transition unsettling?

geoffj

anyone else find the transition unsettling?

Yes, but not as much since I got the brakes set up properly.

**would still like discs though

wwaswas

I always tended to view brakes on my road bike as more for ‘scrubbing off speed’ than actual ‘stopping quickly’ so was never disappointed when approaching trouble to find they weren’t immediately to hand.

Having said that, if you ride ‘on the hoods’ most of the time (which most roadies do) then you’ve got the brakes covered anyway?

GW
    Free Member

nope. you should be braking exactly the same as on your mtb (ie. only when required).. you should be able to reach the brake levers on the drops and on the hoods you can cover them.. you’ll be on the hoods in any situation where you need to cover them (busy traffic in towns etc.)
    Why would anyone want discs on a roadbike?

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I find them quite powerfull acutaly, easily enough to lock up the rear wheel, why on earth would you want disks? On a crosser in mud I can kinda see the point, or as a tandem drag brake, but for general use?

GW
    Free Member

I always tended to view brakes on my road bike as more for ‘scrubbing off speed’ than actual ‘stopping quickly’ so was never disappointed when approaching trouble to find they weren’t immediately to hand.