Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Front Forks Advice Required
  • stevemac
    Free Member

Folks,

Hi there. I have been biking for a few years now and im riding a Canondale prophet 2. I was at Innerleithen today and realised I may have outgrown my front forks (Tora or Pike I cant remember 140mm). Im 6.3″ AND 12.5 stone riding a large frame and want to know what front forks to go for. Im thinking about reducing the travel a little bit as I like the forks to be solid but dont want to screw up the geometry (the bike comes into its own on the downhills) and would probably spend up ro about £400 for forks any thoughts? Thinking SIDS, Fox Float or Marzocchis? Next year upgrade the rear fox float R for a lock out and get some custom wheels (I have a few sets for my road bike and getting seriously into this but not good enough yet to really feel the full benefit!). Any advice welcome and many thanks!

Cheers, Steve

rob-jackson
    Free Member

lol at sids on a prophet!! 140-150mm forks with a blt thru axle (revs, pikes, spaced down lyriks, sektors)

james
    Free Member

“Tora or Pike I cant remember 140mm”
    Try and remember, it’d help here
    I don’t think there was ever a 140mm tora, but as there was a 140mm recon I don’t imagine it would have been impossible
    What dropouts/axle does the fork have. ‘normal’ Quick Release lever, or Maxle QR where you unscrew and remove the axle out the side before the wheel?
    If they’re toras then I’d be thinking about somethign else If you feel they don’t cut it for you. On a prophet I’d have thought a pike was ideal. Maybe get it ‘pushed’ by TFtuned if its in good nick and you want it to improve it a bit?

“Im thinking about reducing the travel a little bit as I like the forks to be solid but dont want to screw up the geometry (the bike comes into its own on the downhills”