Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Fox Float 36 settings
  • prezet
    Free Member

Can anyone help me out with a decent default setting for high/low compression to start out with? I noticed my fork was packing done at Coed Y Brenin over the weekend and remembered I’ve never taken the time to set the high/low compression properly. I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to dialling in a fork – so would like a decent base to start experimenting with.

theroadwarrior
    Free Member

If you’ve had it a while and not serviced it- do this, it makes a huge difference.

Check your sag- it’s only a start point but worth doing.

If your fork is packing down, i.e. not returning to the sag position after successive hits then you can try speeding up the rebound damping. That is, have less rebound damping. Less is towards ‘-‘ on the adjuster. Just move it one or two clicks to start with and go from there.

Don’t worry too much about the compression damping for now, rebound is the key one to get right.

prezet
    Free Member

Thanks. I adjusted the rebound, so I’ll see how that goes, but I thought while I was in the process of getting that sorted I’d take the time to try to dial in some of the other settings.

michaelonabicycle
    Free Member

Packing down is the rebound as already said. The compression is how it ‘stands up’ on the trail to different hits from bumps. Get the rebound dialled then work on the compression.

prezet
    Free Member

Thanks. I’m after something like this (which I found on the Pivot site):

Setting Rebound, High Speed Compression and Low Speed Compression damping adjustments on Fox 36 RC2 Fit damper forks for Firebird: In general, for a rider between 160-180lbs, we recommend the following baseline settings:
    Rebound: 10 clicks out from all the way in
    High Speed Compression: 15 clicks out from all the way in
    Low Speed Compression: 17 clicks out from all the way in

http://www.pivotcycles.com/tech/getPage/4-suspension-setup