Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 66 total)
  • Focus or Golf?
  • Dark-Side

I’m looking at buying either a diesel Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI or a VW Golf 1.9 TDI of some description. I have a budget of about £7k and it must be 55 plate or more recent and less than 70,000 miles on the clock. I know I’m going to get a lot more kit in an equivalent priced Focus compared to the Golf, but as a car loan will make up £6k of the purchase price, would I be better off choosing the Golf as it will lose less of it’s value over the loan period, and offset some of the interest on the loan. I also have to consider insurance as I’m a first time driver (albeit a little older at 33). Which car would be your choice?

loddrik
    Free Member

Golf, absolutely no question! 2.0tdi would be the preferred choice though.

M6TTF
    Free Member

You’ll get a newer, better specced focus, but I’d still go for the golf based on desirability for resale

vegasdave
    Free Member

They’re both good cars, VWs aren’t as good as their reputation. Fords are a lot better than theirs.

althepal

Focus, had both, think the focus is more practical, more room in the back for bikes and stuff.
    Had my (petrol) focus for five years/60k miles, all it’s needed are 4 tyres, a steering pump pipe and some oil.
    Only issue with focus is that the early washer jets aren’t well sealed and allow water to drip down and collect around the spark plugs.. Just something to look out for.. Think the diesels have an engine cover that prevents this.

Drac

Golf but I’m biased. MIL has had a few Focuses which I’ve driven, no where near as nice as the Golf but still a good car but prices plummet on them.

vegasdave
    Free Member

As an aside,I hang onto my cars so depreciation isn’t a problem….good job,cos I own a Fiat.

redthunder
    Free Member

I thought you said focus on GOLF :-(.

Anyway, I have a load of golf balls if anyone is interested. MaxFli, Noddle ICe etc. New.

Mail me special STW rate 🙂

ski
    Free Member