Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Flipping Shimano XT 'made of cheese' cranks – what alternative?
  • mysterymove
    Free Member

I’ve had it with Shimano cr@p – this weekend was the last straw!

I’ve been running an XT crankset for 18 months, can put up with them being scuffed and having more than a few rock enduced dings after the first ride – I can even put up with the self-loosening non drive side crank arm. But riding yesterday the pedal threads completely let go launching me off into the undergrowth at some speed. Closer inspection and i’ve got 1/2 a thread left!

Utter Cr@p

What are my options on a new non-shimano crank set?

Conan257
    Free Member

With shimano being the go-to of the crank world, I’m not sure!

Perhaps you should look at Race-Face… But cost is a factor perhaps…

richmtb

SLX cranks have steel pedal inserts, go for them

robinlaidlaw
    Free Member

Wow! what on earth are you doing to them? They are totally solid and reliable for me and everyone else I know.

nickjb
    Free Member

Shimano cranks and less ham fisted spannering 😉

jameso

If you’re wrecking XT you need either Saint / Zee or a how-to-fit guide. Most other cranks use taper-fit splines for NDS crank attachment and the Shimano system is a better way to do it – FSA started to change their cranks to this system recently.

tomd
    Free Member

Was there not a very dull group test of cranks in last / this months MBR? Essentially, they all work and the Shimano were the best for value and performance. If the Xt aren’t tough enough maybe look at zee or saint?

ndthornton
    Free Member

My XT hollowtech 2 cranks are probably my favorite and most bombproof piece of bike equipment I own, outlasting frames, forks, brakes and almost everything else bar a seat clamp on my current bike.

Despite being a lightweight XC component they have survived 4 Alpine trips including 3 Megavelanche, 2 Spain weeks and all my UK riding in between over about 6 years.