Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • First world solution please – making reasonable coffee in an office environment
  • IHN

What are my options for making a reasonable* cup of coffee in an office? Being the jetsetting, travel light, move fast kinda guy I am**, I need something that will fit in my laptop bag, low in faff levels and doesn’t get too messy (as I have limited washing up/drying facilities).

I have access to hot water and mugs. Any ideas?

* as in decent strongish filter-ish quality, not premium barista level.
    ** i.e. I’m a contractor, so often don’t even get a desk and have to make do with sitting in reception/on any vacant desk/on the floor.

Spud

Aeropress, get the kit that comes in a nice little bag and add good coffee!

ajantom

Beaten to it…..Aeropress all the way. Good bit of kit.

DrJ

Yeah – Aeropress is the best option as it involves least mess.

nickc

Aeropress.

It’s pretty much the best solution for this type of issue. It comes in it’s own bag, it’s reasonably fuss free, and mess free, you can keep a few filters and I have an old jam jar with pre-ground in it.

All very portable

Cougar

Aeropress, +n.

matt_outandabout

I have a GSI Cafetiere and cup, bought to use camping and paddling, but is small enough to pop into a bag and carry with me. It has been allowed on as my hand luggage as well..

Alternatvely, lots of all in one mug and cafetiere’s /Javapress things out there:

IHN

What about an Aeropress? 😉

edit – ah, thanls Matt, I was thinking about a cafetiere mug kinda thing. I’ve had one before but it was a bit rubbish, I’ll have a look at the one you’ve got.

br
    Free Member

tbh I just use Azera Americano, decent enough (for a mainly tea drinker)

Rubber_Buccaneer

Well, Aeropress is the answer. Easy as a cafetiere but with a better filter, easier clean up and easy to make a stronger coffee if that is what you want.

Looks a bit like this

mechanicaldope