Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 153 total)
  • Ex9 cracked frame! Advice!
  • Kal
    Free Member

Half way round my usual Tuesday night ride there was an almighty "crack" sound from the rear end of me Ex9, just going over a small root in the trail!!
    I bought the bike of flea bay, before you say it it was as new and Ive been using it for around 18 months trouble free!! I have the original receipt from the original owner but looking on the Trek site it only warranties the bike to the original owner!!
    It looks to me to be a failier in workmanship as it's not been abused! Any comments and advice would be greatley appreciated.

I do plan on ringing Corleys tomorrow to get there opinions as well.

Cheers

chris_mbuk
    Free Member

how on earth??? ouch…

toppers3933
    Free Member

i think you need to practice youre blagging skills and pretend you are the original owner. 😉

neilb67
    Free Member

Contact the original owner and ask if he's willing to get it sorted for you. I know I would if someone bought a frame off me and it broke.

theotherjonv

Hmmm….

I have read that early model FuelEx's had a known problem

http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=15140272

but then strictly as not the original owner the warranty is invalidated. But then again I've heard Trek are legendary for their support so they may well sort you out anyway or at cost to keep you happy. Their reputation on warranty was part of the reason I chose a Trek.

Wally

I do remember a thread on this exact same failure point when these frames first came out. It is a common problem – it seems.

google similar crack

Gooner
    Free Member

can't offer any advice other than repeating what has been said already but good luck and let us know the outcome

br
    Free Member

Corleys are pretty good, in the first instance I'd take it to them and see what they can do – aim for a crash-replacement (probably 50% off), and if you get better than that, its a result.

theotherjonv