Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • Enjoy it while you can (old geezer content)
  • Tinners

OK, bear with me here. I know that, with post number one, I risk isolating myself as an out of touch, ageing roadie on an MTB forum, but since when were 6 speed cassettes relegated to the scrap heap?
    Twenty five years ago, as a skint student, I slaved for what seemed like an age in a nappy factory during the holidays to save up for my dream bike (cue laughs) – a Raleigh 531c framed road bike, "hand built" in their lightweight unit. It was a revelation. It covered thousands of miles and dominated my youth. I trained obsessively and loved every second of riding it. I pandered to my youthful whims of fashion and added the "icing on the cake" by fitting a set of black, anodised Mavic MA40 rims and Shimano "Biopace", oval shaped chainrings on the front. In my head, it went faster after these modifications and climbing the Rhigos in south Wales, I was Robert Millar in the polka dot jersey (although that's as far as any similarity goes…).
    Then due to a combination of the inevitable work commitments, health problems and the distraction of a pretty lady who was later to become my wife, my beautiful bike was put into "temporary retirement". Lovingly tended. Covered with a protective sheet and stored "indoors" (oh, yes – proper indoors, as in "house" – never too hot, never too cold with TRV set to "frost free") until the time was right. And so it came to be, a couple of months ago, that I announced to my wife that "the time is right". Time to unleash the beast (steady on) and hit the road once more. Time to hit the Rhigos…but not before a full service. Full Monty. Greased bearings, wheel truing, new cassette, chain, the lot. No expense spared. I even pondered getting "Chips Away" to rectify the solitary scratch (measured in microns) on the top tube. So, quicker than you could say "midlife crisis", I headed off to my favourite bike shop.