Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Electric shavers – are they a bit rubbish?
  • wynne
    Free Member

Or is mine duff? Recently acquired a fancy Philips thing and having given it a go it just doesn’t seem to actually shave me. Gone back to the wet razor.

scotroutes

I’ve been using Bosch electric shavers for 30+ years. I think I’m on my third now. I think they’re just fine. Are you stretching your skin while using it? That can make a bit of a difference to how close it cuts.

chipster

My Philips that I’ve had since May is working for me.
    I still have a cutthroat shave at the barber’s, every now and then. That’s a bit closer. 8)

Daffy

As above, been using the same Philishave for almost 20 years. Smooth as a baby’s backside when used correctly. Have you got it set right?

benjamins11
    Free Member

I think it depends how Beardy you are. I have heavy stubble and have always found them useless. Dunno if they have improved recently.

mechanicaldope

I have fairly dense stubble and have never found one which works for me. They always leave patches that aren’t cut properly. Not sure if it is partly because I only shave every few days (lazy or trendy – you decide!), cos I have a funny shape face or if it’s because the shavers are crap. Either way, I have given up on them now.

dantsw13

They don’t like long stubble, so use clippers, then shave. Or grow a lazy beard like me!

Skankin_giant
    Free Member

I’ve recently took one up to make shaving easier while I’m in cast and when I don’t need such a good shave like nights etc.
    Found it doesn’t cut anywhere as close as a good wet shave but good enough for nights and weekends in work…

Cheers, Steve

uponthedowns
    Free Member