Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Education, discuss…
  • canibearaindogtoo
    Free Member

In light of the school holiday thread…

Discuss.

Shift in blame and kids not being held responsible for their academic achievement/behaviour, or declining teaching standards not getting the best out of kids/not adapting to the kids of today?

What are your experiences? I’m a teacher and have my side of the story, so was initially against the taking kids out of school arguement. However some good points did come up on the other thread so i’d be interested to see what people think about this. Let’s broaden those horizons. Needless to say, in a polite and friendly manner, one at a time and hands up if you want to contribute.

canibearaindogtoo
    Free Member

PS: Wrong forum, I know. Can I get it moved?

wwaswas

Had this email from my sons school re: his recent gcse exam.

Bit depressign really – how will employers know that kids with an ‘A’ in 2012 worked harder to achieve it than a kid who got one in 2011?

Dear Parent/Carer,

As you may be well aware, the results of the first round of Science GCSE modular exams in November 2011 were very much lower than expected. Across the country students achieved results that were on average two or more grades below their expectations. Most Blatchington Mill students’ results were similarly affected.