Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Easy route near Keswick?
  • mavisto
    Free Member

GF and I are going to Keswick at the weekend. GF not too confident on her bike yet, but I'm hoping to change that with some gentle mountain biking.

We will be staying in Keswick, so can anybody recommend a not too tough route of about 15 to 20 miles?

ChatsworthMusters
    Free Member

Whinlatter blue will give an idea of what she's capable of. Not a total beginner's track, but good fun. If she likes it you can do the south red loop afterwards.

Alternatively take the old railway to Threlkeld, up the valley almost to Skiddaw House, then come back under Lonscale Crags, and down the trees on the side of Latrigg.

crazy-legs

Alternatively take the old railway to Threlkeld, up the valley almost to Skiddaw House, then come back under Lonscale Crags, and down the trees on the side of Latrigg.

Good route but the bit of track under Lonscale is not for the faint hearted, in fact I've never seen *anyone* clear it so she may not thank you for that part of it… It WILL involve pushing/carrying. Nice route though, decent views if the weather is good.

Another option would be a simple round-the-lake. Starts out on road heading south towards Borrowdale but you can quickly get onto a footpath (bikes are sort of allowed) on the right hand side, take you down through woodland eventually to Grange at the south end of the lake. Couple of nice cafes there then come back via Cat Bells (bit of pushing to get up there but easy once you're there, nice views)
    You join it HERE then follow the Allerdale Ramble path then a few easy bits of quiet road and across a field back to Keswick.

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

Tour of Skiddaw. I take beginners on this all the time and they love it. Some walking required on Lonscale Fell due to scary drop into valley and jagged rocks. Beats Whinlatter into a cocked hat!

ChatsworthMusters
    Free Member