Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Driving to a ski resort (St Anton)
  • rjj
    Free Member

Thinking about visiting my brother-in-law in St Anton in Austria over Easter as part of his job he has an apartment we can stay in – no way we could afford to go skiing otherwise. In order to keep cost down we are going to drive there – I have plenty of experience of driving on the continent and into the mountains in the summer but not in the winter, any advice? I will be getting snow chains obviously but just wondered if any has any experience – my far is that roads will be covered in snow and ice!!

colp

Zero snow on roads unless extreme conditions, you’ll need Winter tyres.
    I do the journey at least 3 times a year, Winter and Summer.

donald
    Free Member

I believe the law in Germany and Austria is that if the roads are covered in snow and ice you must have winter tyres fitted – chains are insufficient. So if you don’t have winter tyres you’ll be taking a gamble and if you’re breaking the law your insurance will most likely be invalid.

nealglover
    Free Member

Zero snow on roads unless extreme conditions, you’ll need Winter tyres.

You don’t “need” winter tyres.

They can make it easier but they aren’t essential by any means.

I used them all the time when living in the Alps, but have since used whatever is on the vehicle I’m taking.

Would prefer winter tyres, but certainly wouldn’t buy a set for a one off trip.

[edit] snow chains over std tyres when needed has never been an issue for me for the last 20 years, (3 trips/year)

gravity-slave
    Free Member

Funnily enough, last night I was reading an AA post with the same title as this thread 🙂

Note the slightly ambiguous comments on winter tyre law for Germany (and presumably Austria)

http://www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/safety/winter-tyres-and-snow-chains.html

Since you’ll drive through a few countries, this is useful