Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 76 total)
  • Don't make your hobby your job…do what you love?
  • cynic-al
    Free Member

Conflicting advice above…any comments from your own experiences?

kcal

Tempted to say keep them separate, for a long time was unhappy at work but it was really just the work environment rather than the work itself.

Happen to enjoy my work (software) and reckoned it was easiest to keep the hobbies / interests separate so they could remain interesting rather than being associated with work.

Did consider jacking it all in to become? guide, ranger, whatever but reckoned I didn’t have the skills to make that leap. So didn’t do the deed; seem to be OK.

starsh78
    Free Member

I work in a bike shop…..

crap.

I eat, sleep & breathe bikes! I love my job 🙂

Jim_Kirk
    Free Member

I ride my motorbike for a living teaching others how to ride. I love my job.

seavers
    Free Member

As a 16 year old (many moons ago) I loved photography. I’m now a photographer and still undertake personal projects regularly. I find it keeps me interested and learning new techniques.

However I find having other interests like MTB and scuba diving nice to break things up.

I guess it might be different if you have a vocation now and a hobby you think could be a new vocation. More details on what you are thinking about doing Al?

MrSmith
    Free Member

Photography wasn’t a hobby before I went to art college and then became a photographer but I do enjoy the work and shooting images that are purely self indulgent, what I don’t do is mix photography with other ‘time off’ so refuse to take a camera when cycling or watching sport/events when most hobbyist photographers would look at that as an opertuneity to take pictures.
    So I will go for a wander with the camera but it’s with a mindset that I’m shooting images not doing anything else.