Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Do you grease your nipples ?
  • larrystumbles
    Free Member

My front wheel ( a DT Swiss M1600 ) has developed rust and bubbling on the rim around the spoke nipples/eyelets and the valve area. As its only 18 months old i have requested a warranty replacement from the retailer as DT Swiss provide a 2 year warranty. They have just come back to me having inspected the wheel to say that its wear and tear due to poor maintenance and there is no warranty claim.
    When i spoke to them the warranty agent suggested i should be putting lube/grease around the spoke nipples/eyelets every month as part of basic maintenance and should remove the rim tape regularly too. Ive checked the user manuals and the technical manuals and this is not mentioned anywhere.

I have been riding mountain bikes on and off for 20 years now and have never had this problem, nor have i ever greased the nipples as he suggested. None of the group i ride with have this problem ( on a variety of different rims )and i have rims that are 10 years old that have been subject to the same basic clean and occasional bearing change regime as the new one and are still perfectly fine.

I suspect i’m being fobbed off here… anyone else follow this advice or have i just been lucky with my wheels until now ?

nedrapier

I wouldn’t accept that. I’m in the smae boat as you – never greased as part of ongoing maintenance, only replaced rim tape when it looks too manky (barely ever), never to check condition of rim bed.

I wouldn’t be happy in your poisition of being told the problem was my fault.

nedrapier

Having said that, I’m sure it’s possible to create that sort of problem through poor maintenance – riding through salt water, cleaning once with brillo pad, daily salt water riding for 18 months, no more cleaning and keeping the bike in a warm, damp basement.

larrystumbles
    Free Member