Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • Do I want to be a teacher?
  • morgs
    Free Member

I’m having one of those ‘late 20s (mid life??) crisis.

I have thought about teaching before (when I was 21) and decided against it. I think that was due to lack of maturity.

Now, I have started seeing my 6 year old son again after 3 years (its a long story i’d sooner not get into) and he has really opened my eyes! I’m thinking I’m ‘ready’ to give it a serious look.

My degree is basically 20th Century history so the logical part of me says 11-16 year old history teacher, but I’m thinking about primary.

Would this be possible? Would any teachers on here advise for / against it? And (stupid point) is the ‘small minded’ opinions of “why would bloke want to be a primary school teacher” seriosuly something to worry about? *

*NOT Troll comment, this is something that has seriosuly been said to me!!

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

Do you like moaning that you dont get enough holidays?

Do you like moaning that no one works as hard as you?

Do you like moaning that your pension is rubbish?

Do you like moaning that your pay is less than adequate?

If you answer yes to the above questions, then teaching is for you.

wwaswas

go for it.

I’d rather do primary than secondary (if only based on my childrens attitude/behaviour at ages 9 and 14 respectively!).

not many men do primary for the reasons you give but if you aim at KS2 there’s less of a question, I’d say.

oxym0r0n

You will come across narrow minded people who think that male primary teaching is odd but also many people who appreciate it as a refreshing change.

I’ve been a male primary teacher for 7+ years. Pros and Cons like any job I guess. Happy to chat more ‘off air’ to avoid the usual STW trolls. Email in profile.

[Edit] Oh, look – they’ve started already 😆

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

Do it.

Do it NOW.