Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • DIY wheel build, Stans flow vs. Mavic
  • Mat

I’ve been running XC717 rims on hope XC hubs for ages now and fancied building a new set of wheels with Pro IIs as I want to learn how to build wheels and also because I’d like to upgrade to some QR 15 forks at some point.

Originally I was planning on going with 717’s again but I wondered if I should go to something bigger given that I now seem to run bigger tyres (2.25 nobby nics at the moment) compared to when I started riding. I also thought I might give tubeless a punt. Anyway this got me looking at 819s, i didn’t realise how much heavier these were though when you consider the inserts for the spokes. So now I’m considering no tubes flows, the stuff about not having eyelets and requiring low spoke tension concerned me a bit though. Would anyone have any reservations about using these for my first build or have any other suggestions.

(I’ve bought that guys pdf on wheel building already)

TIA

MarkyG82

If it were me doing my first build, I’d go for something that can take a bit of tension. No issue with over doing it then.

Also, keep a wheel next to you so you can refer to the lacing pattern.

Onzadog
    Free Member

In use, I’d rather have a flow rim. Nothing touches it for the combination of strength, width and weight. As for the low tension issue, it’s something that concerned me when I built my first set of stan’s rims. Despite being evenly built and all my previous wheels being durable, these went out of true. So, I compared my low spoke tension to some Hope Hoops and cranked them up. They’ve been spot on since. My advise would be to oil the rim/nipple interface when you build them and tension like any other rim. It’s worked for me. YMMV

aracer
    Free Member