Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • DIY tubeless sealant?
  • alfabus
    Free Member

I’ve been using JRA wheel milk for a few years now, before that I was using stans.

Starting to get annoyed at spending top dollar on something that looks a lot like PVA glue.

Has anyone got any recipes for DIYing some tubeless solution?

Dave

Scapegoat

You can get a pint of Stans for 13 quid. Each pint is enough to treat four pairs of tyres. That’s £1.63 per tyre. About one third of the price of an innertube. Top dollar?

alfabus
    Free Member

wheelmilk is £15 per litre, so even loss than that 😳

Still feels like pouring money away….

Stoner
    Free Member

I use liquid latex from eBay at 2:1 mix.

comes out at about £3 a pint.

frogstomp

Isn’t that just diluting it? What do you use in place of the crystals (mica apparantly) that do the ‘clogging up’ of the hole..?

Stoner
    Free Member

Isn’t that just diluting it?

That’s exactly what it is 😉

Straight from the bottle it’s not quite runny enough.

bulking ingredients rather depend on what kind of punctures you get – for me its almost always snakebites (redundant now Ive gone tubeless) and hawthorn.

If I were putting bigger cuts in the tyre then maybe Id think of using something else, but latex plugs thorn holes perfectly well.

svalgis
    Free Member

Still feels like pouring money away….

Just think of it as part of the cost of a tyre and it suddenly seems quite insignificant.

alfabus
    Free Member

Just think of it as part of the cost of a tyre and it suddenly seems quite insignificant.

fair point for the first time I put a tyre on, but what about if I want to change tyres? I have to spend money to swap to mud tyres, or to put on bigger freeride tyres instead of XC tyres.

Don’t get me wrong, I love tubeless, but I don’t want to pay through the nose for a consumable if there is a way to buy the same stuff cheaper just because it has a different label on it.

Dave

Scapegoat