Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • DIY Electrics – How to get it inspected/tested
  • who
    Free Member

Hopefully the collective singletrackworld brain can help me with this one

I'm struggling to find any clarity in the murky world that is diy electrics since the part P regulations came into play.

I'm currently having an extension onto my kitchen which is being done on a building notice which having checked with the building inspector does cover any relevant notification required for electrical work (any work in a kitchen being notifiable) Having recieved some quite extortionate quotes from Electricians I'm intending to do the wiring myself (for the record i'm no professional but am fairly confident with domestic wiring)

Unfourtunately, unlike some Building control offices, South hams (in devon) don't have their own electrical inspectors and have asked that I have by work independently certified by a qualified electrician but have advised that I may struggle to find someone to do this.

Having asked the question of a few electricians it would appear there is a general reluctance to cetrify other peoples work (which I can understand) but there must be people out there willing to do it?

Any advice would be welcome, particualry on what type of company to look for / exactly what 'certificate' i need etc

Cheers

Andy

donks
    Free Member