• This topic has 17 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by Sam.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Cyclocross tubular or tubeless?
  • flattyre
    Free Member

Can’t decide which way to go…considering chinese carbon tubular or stans ironcross

Mainly for racing next winter but would also like to use for normal rides in the woods

Have tried tubeless and couldn’t get the pressures low enough without burping….but this was with non-tubeless rims.

Never tried tubular – is it possible to deal with a puncture on a normal ride?

eddie11
    Free Member

Racing? Tubular.

Normal rides? Tubes

Can only speak for mountain bikes on tubeless and I’ve had some very very good experiences and very bad. Nothing inbetween so still not sure where I stand on it.

MikeWW
    Free Member

Tubular all the way for cross racing

maximusmountain
    Free Member

Based purely on my housemate experience tubeless is terrible for cross unless you have tubeless specific rims. Even running 60psi to he managed to cut a hole in the side wall when he hit a root.

Equally I saw someone on the 3pcx blow his tyre up on a set of iron cross wheels because he was using non-tubeless tyres (land cruisers) and ridiculous pressures.

If you are using a tubeless tyre on your tubeless rim it might be ok, lowest a guy in the club runs them is 40psi I think and he burps occasionally.

Id vote tubular for racing, but clinchers (non-tubeless) for standard riding.

schmiken

Tubular for racing.

flattyre
    Free Member

Thanks all, tubular it is then.

Minimum I have managed to get away with is 40psi at rear tubeless.

Is there any hope for fixing a tubular tyre on a ride?

vdubber67
    Free Member

Apparently some people put latex solution in tubs. Not tried it myself.

spangelsaregreat
    Free Member

If cost no issue then tubular.