Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 215 total)
  • Cycle lane etiquette – new driver question
  • peterfile
    Free Member

I was driving along a busy road last night.

Miguel Indurain and Eddie Merckx were riding two abreast up ahead.

Due to the constant flow of traffic on the other side, it was difficult to overtake. It was a 30mph road, and we were sat around 15mph.

I’d have sat and waited no problem, I certainly wasn’t in a hurry and I’ve been a cyclist a heck of a lot longer than I’ve been a driver, so know how it feels on the road from the two wheeled perspective at least.

But…there was a pretty wide and completely clear cycle lane just to the left (part of the road), which was unobstructed as far as I could see (also free of other users).

I know the use of cycle lanes isn’t mandatory, but surely if you can see that it’s clear and you’re slowing other road users, you would move into the lane until it no longer becomes suitable?

Is there a reason for not moving into the lane that I’m missing? Serious question, just curious as to why they didn’t.

nbt

I’d have used the lane if it was a well designed cycle lane. ROund here, they’re few and far between as you often find they’re interrupted by side roads where the cyclists are expected to give way to cars – almost as if the only reason for cycle lanes is to get bikes out of the way.

In your case, I don’t know what the cycle lane was like. if it was indeed long and useful and traffic free, then I’d problbay say they should have had the grace to use it,

BoardinBob

But…there was a pretty wide and completely clear cycle lane just to the left (part of the road), which was unobstructed as far as I could see (also free of other users).