Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Croix De Fer Upgrades
  • monkeyninja
    Free Member

Last week i bought a croix de fer from iainc on here, ridden it a couple of days this week to work and am loving it done 90km so far. I’ve changed to a cheap 100mm stem as it felt quite stretched out and i am not used to riding a road bike bike (zero flexibility). The question is if i was to look at new wheels and new bars/stem what would be the suggestions, i am completely new to this kind of riding? From a quick search i found salsa cowbell bars and one one midge bars and the kinesis cx wheels.. what are my other options? I’m happy with drive train and brakes and not looking to upgrade them just now. Would a carbon fork be a worthwhile upgrade in the future as well?

Jamie
    Free Member

Would a carbon fork be a worthwhile upgrade in the future as well?

I wouldn’t bother. 1) Didn’t make a massive amount of difference. 2) Weird sizing, so tricky to get one that keeps all the geo the same.

The question is if i was to look at new wheels

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/kinesis-crosslight-disc-v3-roadcx-wheelset/

slparsons
    Free Member

I fitted a Specialized stem and the Salsa cowbell bars to mine.

I’ve seen lots of good feedback on the Kinesis wheels (see the Tripster ATR thread on here).

I’d say look no further unless you want to spend (lots) more.

kcal

Peregrine here, so not dissimilar.

Cowbell bars – love them. Stem – shorter, more raised. Sod the aesthetics.
    Would carbon forks have the requisite rack / guard mounts for future use?

Wheels – I got Archetype H Plus Sons from J R A. Lovely. Sturdy.

jerrys
    Free Member

I put a BBB 35 degree riser stem on my CdF. Works for me 🙂

Will probably try some different bars soon – Cowbells I expect.

isitafox
    Free Member