Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Crank Brother Mallet pedals + Five Ten Hellcat shoes
  • aditude
    Free Member

From what I hear people are split 50/50 on whether to ride flat or clipless for mountain biking.

Wonder if CB Mallet platform clipless pedals combined with Five Ten SPD compatible shoes (eg Hellcat) are a good combination for versatility? Am getting into MTB for fun on weekends and not thinking about racing or anything too serious. Plan is to do tours in the Alps so would benefit from the power / efficiency from clipless when climbing or going down less technical downhill but because I am a beginner do not have the confidence to have fun down steep technical descents if I am worried about being tied to the bike!

I’ve read, although not as sticky as the free rider shoes, the Hellcat shoes have stealth rubber soles for grip and the CB Mallet pedals have adjustable pins for grip. Anyone have experience riding the CB Mallets as flats with Five Ten Hellcat / Minaar / Falcon Maltese SPD compatible shoes? Thanks!

stevenieve
    Free Member

I run Hellcats with the new XTR Trail pedals.
    The Hellcats don’t have the stiffest of soles but should be spot on with any spd with a bit of a platform/cage.
    There’s a bit of rub with the sole as you twist to disengage from the recessed cleat. Really comfy shoes.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

run minars with Mallets and they are great (note for me!! as the pins stick well so unclipping is a little more of an effort)

kimbers

well the hellcats were designed by minaar and he runs mallets
    they work for him

Brown
    Free Member