Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Could you run a small business on 4G?
  • Aus
    Free Member

Hi, assistance would be v much appreciated! We’re a small design business (12 people) and have to move office after 6 break-ins in the last 2 years. Found a good office to move to (London Bridge) bust just checked the existing BT broadband speed and it’s 7mbps at best. We currently have 50mbps and that’s doable for our work. BT say they can’t install fibre or faster line, nor can several other suppliers because of the location and the nearest exchange.

Is it possible to run 4g for the team? Have spoken to a couple of suppliers who naturally say yes, you can have speeds of up to 50mbps but slight worry that the reality might be less!

Any experiences of this? I’m not tech savvy so go easy if it’s a daft qn!

Cheers

craig24
    Free Member

I would imagine 4G would be plenty fast enough. We have customers configured with 4G failover on there fibre connections and no one complains of speed issues when the fibre connection goes down.

Other options would be EFM (Multiple copper pairs bonded together) or wireless leased line from someone like Metronet

http://www.metronet-uk.com/products/wireless-leased-line/

nbt

COst might be a factor, once you tell people it’s 4G for business you aren;t going to get unlimited data for the same price as a phone from the high street

ourmaninthenorth

Er, I know you’re a small business, but there’s more to life than regular copper broadband or FTTC.

craig24 raises a good shout on EFM. Worth looking at – lots of competive prices out there (just don’t go to BT..!).

ETA: yes, you’ll find people out there who’ll do you a deal on 4G, but I reckon you’ll get worse performance for more money. It’s not the headline throughput, but the reliability of the connection and the customer support you get when it falls over.

somouk
    Free Member