Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Corners, on a motorbike.
  • Merak

I’m new to motorbiking. I don’t like the wet much, least of all, bends.

I went out with local IAM group who advised when, for example riding around a left hand bend on a B road I want to be on the crown, right on the line as far right as possible,to see through the corner. When it’s blind on a country road I feel very exposed.

Is this right?

scotroutes

Being out there gives you the maximum chance of seeing anything coming round the corner. That’s where you should be in a car too in fact, advanced motoring instruction advises you to cross the crown where possible to see even further (obviously tempered by visibility).

footflaps

You need to read Roadcraft..

Get some lessons as well….

5thElefant
    Free Member

That’s the racing line, and the best place to be. But, if you don’t feel comfortable go slower and keep tighter.

anagallis_arvensis

If its a blind bend on a country road just slow down. You should be able to stop in the distance you can see. Keep this in mind first and the rest will come. Slow in fast out. You can accelerate earlier when positioned for view as the view extends earlier

footflaps

Also, always have an escape line planned, so you know where you’re going if you do encounter something coming wide around the bend etc…

All very stressful at first and requires way more concentration than driving a car.

imnotverygood

I one followed a motorcycle cop who went right on the other side of the road while approaching a L/H bend. The idea is to get the best view around the corner and to increase the radius. Pretty obvs really.

mogrim

When you’re new, remember it’s slow-in-fast-out. And you’ll get faster with time. Concentrate on staying loose on the bike and watching where you want to go, rather than worrying about lines and speed.