Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Continuing job dead-end dilemma
  • mikey74
    Free Member

I have a bit of a dilemma: I’m 42, I’ve reached a bit of a dead-end as a senior architectural technician (both in terms of job role and salary) and I don’t really know where to go from here.

I am in the middle of a Certificate of Higher Ed in Geology (part-time, evenings), which I love, and am considering continuing on to do the BSc: However, I think I have to be realistic when it comes to prospects with this and accept that I may be better off, at least financially, if I stay in my current industry where I have 15 years of experience. Ideally, I’d rather move on to something new (and something that interests me, such as the geology) but I won’t deny that money has to be a factor, given my age.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

aP
    Free Member

The architectural technologist I used to work closely with is now a technical director for a medium sized housebuilder, so there’s that kind of role which would mean that you’d be part managing either their in house technical capability or external consultants.
    Alternatively, why not look at moving jobs to a practice that might offer you more opportunities?

piemonster

How demanding is your current role. Is it really the right thing to do to continually progress in the workplace?

Perhaps you could take the energy and time away from you professional life and put it into something else!?

I’m not saying these are the right things for you, just punting an alternative option out there. Good luck whatever you do. (Written by someone with no career ambitions beyond covering bills)

one_happy_hippy
    Free Member

Unless you are reasonably high up in the Oil or Gas industry or work in Gold/base metal exploration overseas then there isn’t a massive amount of money in geology, the principal application of which in the U.K. Is the Geotechnical industry which isn’t ever going to make anyone rich.

mikey74
    Free Member