Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Company car newbie
  • tobymc

Had an offer with a car included in the package (passat estate 2.0tdi fyi…). How will this be taxed as a benefit in kind?
    Like I said – I’m new to all this…..

somouk
    Free Member

Depending on your income you will either be taxed 20% or 40% of the BIK value. Stick the figures in to comcar and it will show you.

Does it include fuel or just the car and you fuel yourself?

A quick look based on a standard 150ps Manual SE Business shows:

2017/2018 – 20% @ £1172 40% @ £2344

Dickyboy

The hmrc website is pretty good for this stuff, you’ll need to know listed price of car and any options and CO2 figure

Baron_von_drais
    Free Member

Go here. Comcar. It will tell you exactly

tobymc

Fuel card I’m told.
    BIK value?

somouk
    Free Member

BIK = Benefit in Kind

A tax term which shows how much the tax man thinks the vehicle is worth as a benefit.

Baron_von_drais
    Free Member

Fuel card I’m told.

Check whether it is really worth it to you. You may be surprised by how many private miles you need to do to make it worth it.

BIK value?

BIK = Benefit in Kind

tobymc

Thanks all.

molgrips
    Free Member

How will this be taxed as a benefit in kind?

Heavily. I get the option to have a company car, but I take the cash.

nickdavies

Put your figures into Comcar.

Very essentially your car benefit brings your personal allowance down, there is a taxable value on both the car and the fuel allowance if you take it. Don’t just assume you pay 20/40% tax on it as that’s not how it works, if the car pushes you into the 40% tax bracket you don’t pay the higher tax on all of it. Comcar will tell you the figures- you pay tax on the P11D value of the car + options.