Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Coil vs air fork for a mini DH bike
  • kudos100
    Free Member

I’ve pretty much always ridden air forks (bar a set of coil pikes) and have been happy with their performance for trail riding and the odd bit of DH. I am now building a mini dh bike for downhill days, uplifts and the odd bit of trail riding in wales and scotland etc.

The frame is a giant reign x, with a fox dhx 3.0, 521’s on pro 2’s, wide bars, short stem etc. It will be slackened off to about 65 deg with offset bushings to make it more fun on the downhills.

The bike will be peddled about so I don’t want it to weight a ton.

Are coil forks worth the extra weight for more DH focused riding? I will be riding decent sized jumps on it (25ft+) and will give it a beating on uplift days and in the alps. I’m looking at lyriks and 36’s.

bwaarp
    Free Member

On the Lyriks? Ive got the U-turns, they are almost marz buttery smooth. I have no experience of the Solo Airs, when it comes to the Fox 36’s….I’ve got experience of the non-kashima Van vs floats. The Van coils were much smoother….but then again the floats might have had little oil in them or not been serviced properly.

Does 1lb of extra weight bother you that much? Also, I would stay away from 180mm single crowns. They flex like **** compared to 160mm forks, for the axle to crown height you may as well go with a dual crown.

I personally…. would say they are worth the extra weight. In fact I would rather have coils on the front and an air shock on the rear as traction on the front matters more than traction at the rear. Perhaps you could dump weight on the rear by running a Monarch Plus or Vivid Air.

kudos100
    Free Member

It bothers me if I am hardly going to notice the difference. I had air lyriks on my old enduro and they were great. As I have not tried a pair of long travel coil forks I have nothing to compare them to.