Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Coil-a-phobia – can it be cured?
  • thepurist

Here’s the problem – my first offroad bike had a pair of RS Judys which had all the plushness of an iron girder. I ditched them for some Rebas and have never looked back at coil forks. Since then air sprung always worked for me – light, easily adjustable, smooth enough and has been reliable for me.

I’m now on the lookout for some 140mm forks and there seem to be a lot of coil forks for sale out there but at the moment I’m not bothering to look at them. I’m not fussed about opening a fork up to change the spring (I’m about 11st in my riding kit), but I’ve got no experience of finding the correct spring rate etc.

So educate me – am I still daft to discount coil forks?

fivespot
    Free Member

Rock Shox Pikes with std. spring should be just fine. Even better if you can find some Push tuned ones.

momo

I’ve been using air forks for 15-16 years now, with a very brief period on the coil/air assisted Pace RC36 (awful reliability problems, went back to Pace twice in the 9 months I ran them for!) have used a fox air fork for the past 4 years, 2 weeks ago switched to a 36 vanilla, wow so much nicer than any other fork I’ve ever used, great small bump response, no stiction, but, and it’s a big but, they’re rather heavy (roughly 2lbs heavier than my 32’s), if that’s a problem for you, but for me it’s a weight worth carrying for the extra capability.

retro83
    Free Member

Coil and air feel identical to me on Revelations. No discernible stiction on either. Air has the advantage that you can get the spring rate just right.

The feel of the fork is more down to the damper IMVHO 🙂

molgrips
    Free Member

Coil is much plusher and nicer, and you get all your travel. Just heavier.

Doug
    Free Member

Coil Judy’s were rubbish with no damping whatsoever. Comparing modern mid level coil forks to your experience of Judy’s is like comparing a new 3 bed semi to a cave.

Northwind